skip navigation

S M L Text size
Home » Grants and Funding » National Eye Institute: Division of Extramural Research

Division of Extramural Research

Waist trainer

Mission Statement
Staff Contacts List

Mission Statement

The Division of Extramural Research (1) plans and directs programs of grant and cooperative agreement, support for basic and applied clinical research, training, and career development, concerning the blinding eye diseases, visual disorders, mechanisms of visual function, preservation of sight, and the special health problems and needs of individuals who are partially-sighted or blind; (2) plans and directs the grant and cooperative agreement management activities of the Institute, ensuring that all awards are made in accordance with applicable statutes, regulations, and policies; (3) provides the initial scientific and technical merit review of those research and training applications assigned to the Institute's Scientific Review Branch; (4) provides the Institute's committee management services, and provides logistical support for the National Advisory Eye Council; (5) provides advice to the Director on all issues relating to extramural research program activities; and, (6) participates in the planning, development, formulation, evaluation, and administration of the overall programs, policies, and operating procedures of the Institute.

All Staff May be Contacted by Phone at (301) 451-2020

Main Fax: (301) 402-0528

Grants Management Fax: (301) 496-9997

Director, Division of Extramural Research
Dr. Loré Anne McNicol

Extramural Policy Officer
Ellen S. Liberman, Ph.D., M.B.A.

Program Staff

Retinal Diseases Program
Fundamental Retinal Processes
Lisa A. Neuhold, Ph.D.

Retinal Diseases
Grace L. Shen, Ph.D.

Retinal Neuroscience
Thomas N. Greenwell, Ph.D.

Corneal Diseases
George A. McKie, D.V.M., Ph.D.

Lens and Cataract
Oculomotor Systems and Neuro-Ophthalmology
Houmam Araj, Ph.D.

Glaucoma and Optic Neuropathies
Hemin R. Chin, Ph.D.

Strabismus, Amblyopia, & Visual Processing
Michael A. Steinmetz, Ph.D.

Perception and Psychophysics
Low Vision and Blindness Rehabilitation
Cheri L. Wiggs, Ph.D

Cross-Cutting Programs

Center Core Grant Program
Ellen S. Liberman, Ph.D., M.B.A.

Collaborative Clinical Research
Donald F. Everett, M.A.

Steven R. Oversby, R.N., Ph.D.

Maryann Redford, D.D.S., M.P.H.

Eleanor B. Schron, Ph.D.

Louise Wideroff, Ph.D., M.S.P.H.

Myopia and Refractive Error
Cheri L. Wiggs, Ph.D.

Research Resources
Jerome R. Wujek, Ph.D.

NIH Roadmap Nanomedicine Initiative, Project Team Leader
Richard S. Fisher, Ph.D.

Ocular Infection, Inflammation, and Immunology
George A. McKie, D.V.M., Ph.D.

Ocular Pain
Houmam Araj, Ph.D.

NEI Training and Workforce Development Officer
Neeraj Agarwal, Ph.D.

Scientific Review Staff
Annie E. Schaffner, Ph.D., Chief

Brian A. Hoshaw, Ph.D.

Grants Management Staff
FAX (301) 496-9997
William W. Darby, Chief

J. Kevin Keating, Deputy Chief

Pamela Bobbitt

Sylvia Braxton

Monique K. Clark

Linda Dingle

Tina E. Jones

Kathleen L. Moy

Karen Robinson Smith

Chantell Stevenson-Brown

Keturah Williams

Last Updated: September 2013

Department of Health and Human Services NIH, the National Institutes of Health